Waste and recycling collections

The Vale of White Horse District collects food waste every week, and rubbish and recycling fortnightly on alternate weeks. This means one week you will put your rubbish and food waste out for collection and the week after, your recycling and food waste.

If you pay for a brown bin this will be collected fortnightly and will be on the same day as your recycling.

The normal collection day for Farmoor is Thursday, but this will be affected by public holidays.

Dates for 2018/19

Food & General Waste (black bin) .     . Food & Recycling (Green bin) /Garden Waste (Brown bin)
Thu 5th Jul   Thu 12th Jul
Thu 19th Jul   Thu 26th Jul
Thu 2nd Aug   Thu 9th Aug
Thu 16th Aug   Thu 23rd Aug
Fri 31st Aug   Thu 6th Sep
Thu 13th Sep   Thu 19th Sep
Thu 26th Sep   Thu 4th Oct
Thu 11th Oct   Thu 18th Oct **
Thu 25th Oct   Thu 1st Nov
Thu 8th Nov   Thu15th Nov
Thu 22nd Nov   Thu 29th Nov
Thu 6th Dec   Thu 13th Dec
Thu 20th Dec   Sat 29th Dec *
Sat 5th Jan   Fri 11th Jan
Thu 17th Jan   Thu 24th Jan
Thu 31st Jan   Thu 7th Feb
Thu 14th Feb   Thu  21st Feb
Thu 28th Feb   Thu 7th Mar
Thu 14th Mar   Thu 21st Mar
Thu 28th Mar   Thu 4th Apr
Thu 11th Apr   Thu 18th Apr

* - no garden waste collection

** - extra garden waste collection

For more information about waste collections see the council Rubbish, recycling and waste pages.

***** Free Text Reminders About When To Put Out Your Bins When Collections Change Because Of Bank Holidays And Bad Weather*****
Send a message with the word waste and your collection day to 07797 870371 (for example waste Monday) and you will receive a text the day before your collection letting you know to put your bins out.
You can also take your own rubbish to council Waste and recycling centres.  The nearest to Farmoor are:
Dix Pit - Lynch Hill, Stanton Harcourt, OX29 5BB- 6.5 miles

Redbridge - Old Abingdon Road, Oxford, OX1 4XG - 6 miles