Farmoor History

The Domesday Project

In 1986 the BBC launched an ambitious project to record a snapshot of everyday life across the UK for future generations. A million volunteers took part…

Now, 25 years later you can explore the archive online and see the pictures.

Click here to see the section covering Farmoor

Farmoor Village History since the 1920s.

The history of Farmoor goes back to when it was a collection of farms. The landowner was the Earl of Abingdon and in the 1920s the Earl sold his estates and many of the farms came into private ownership. The Franklin brothers, local farmers, bought ex-army huts and erected them in the village. They were occupied mostly by railwaymen. The huts remained in Farmoor until the 1950s when Dean Court Estate was built and the families moved into the new houses.

Read more...

Farmoor Valley since 60,000BC

Nick Vick on his site Farmoor Reservoir Oxfordshire, UK provides us with this fascinating history since 60,00BC of the river valley in which Farmoor is located:

Read more...

 Kelly's Directory

(or more formally, the Kelly's, Post Office and Harrod & Co Directory) was a trade directory in the United Kingdom that listed all businesses and tradespeople in a particular city or town, as well as a general directory of postal addresses of local gentry, landowners, charities, and other facilities. In effect, it was a Victorian version of today's Yellow Pages.  More...

Kelly Directory for Cumnor 1890

Kelly Directory for Cumnor 1927

Farmoor Silver Jubilee Celebrations 1977

Memory 1: Francis & Martin Harris interviewed by Becky Treadwell for GOOD HISTORY: The Journal of the Eynsham Junior History Group (No 12, Summer 2002)

Read more...